Latest News

Celebrating Healthy Schools

Published: 16/07/2019

The Flintshire Healthy Schools annual Celebration of Achievement event took place recently at Ysgol Gwynedd, Flint.

This uplifting and inspiring event is organised by the Healthy Schools Team, which is part of the Council’s Education and Youth Service.  For the third consecutive year the event, which recognises the achievements of schools in all aspects of health education and sport, was celebrated jointly with the Flintshire Primary School Games Association (FPSGA).

Pupils from schools across the county attended to receive their awards from the Chairman of Flintshire County Council, Councillor Marion Bateman.

Mr Gareth Caughter, Chair of the FPSGA and Head Teacher at Ysgol Owen Jones, Northop welcomed everyone to the event, which included performances from Mold's Ysgol Glanrafon Choir, and cheerleading performances from pupils at Ewloe CP School. A presentation shared by Ysgol Ty Ffynnon, Shotton demonstrated how they became the first school in Wales to achieve ‘The National Nurturing School Award’.

Councillor Bateman presented the County Team Sports Awards, saying:

“Today highlights the ongoing commitment to Sport in Flintshire which continues to happen year after year in all our schools across the County.  There are a wide range of sports recognised at this event including rounders, football, athletics, cricket, and netball.  Well done to everyone involved.”

A number of Dragon Sports Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum awards were presented by Steve Thomas of Aura Leisure and Libraries. The winner of the Gold Award this year was Ysgol Terrig, Treuddyn and Platinum awards went to;  Southdown CP, Buckley, St Winefride's Catholic School, Holywell, Wood Memorial Primary School, Saltney, Ewloe Green CP, Ysgol Glan Aber, Bagillt, Ysgol Bro Carmel, Holywell and Ysgol y Llan, Whitford.

School improvement Manager, Vicky Barlow presented 13 Healthy Schools Phase 4 and 5 awards and the Healthy Schools National Quality Awards.  Two schools, Ysgol Rhos Helyg, Rhosesmor and Sandycroft Primary School achieved the accreditation this summer and The Alun High School, Mold, Cornist Park School Flint, Ysgol Mynydd Isa and Wood Memorial Primary School, Saltney were successfully re-accredited for 2018/19.

Vicky Barlow, said:

“Achieving the National Quality Award demonstrates a firm commitment to developing all aspects of health and wellbeing over many years, as part of a whole school approach. It is an accumulation of over 10 years of work and involves a two day verification visit by Welsh Government. A huge congratulations to both Ysgol Rhos Helyg and Sandycroft Primary School on such an achievement this year!”

Among the awards presented were three special awards from the PSGA for Nicola Prince from Wood Memorial Primary School Saltney who won the Most Promising Female Sportsperson 2019 and Matteo Evans Ford from Ysgol Trelawyd for Most Promising Male Sportsperson 2019. 

This year’s winner of the Outstanding Contribution to Sport in Flintshire was awarded posthumously to Mrs. Debbie Lawrence who sadly passed away in May. Debbie had taught at Ewloe Green Primary School for over 16 years and during that time her commitment to sport was there for everyone to see, benefiting pupils and colleagues both within her school and across Flintshire.  

Councillor Bateman said:

“This is a very special celebration event and I am delighted to give my support to it.  It is important that we continue to demonstrate our support to the Healthy Schools Scheme and celebrate the county’s talented athletes.  It is wonderful to see the children so engaged and enthusiastic.”



Share this information

Flintshire News
Flintshire on Twitter